Category: Alternative

2 Oct, 2012

Petites Boites (Little Boxes) - Graeme Allwright - Graeme Allwright (Vinyl, LP, Album)

He performed until the s to spread his non-violent message of working in our conscience to change inegalitarian society. In the s, together with Sylvie Dien, he wrote new lyrics to the French national anthem, " La Marseillaise ", to make it a song of peace rather than of war.

Graeme Allwright died aged 93 on 16 February , in the retirement home in Seine-et-Marne where he had been living for a year, according to his daughter Jeanne. Graeme Allwright French singer-songwriter. Allwright in This was the case for most musicians writing in the genre called Motown. For years places like Hitsville U. Many of the vinyl albums that top the list for albums a good collector should have in their collection have a major thing in common; their influence on the world of music when they were released and ever since.

Allwright later worked on film soundtracks, and recorded an album of songs for children. He released the album Tant de Joies, a collaboration with American jazz trombonist Glenn Ferris, in In , he made a rare return to New Zealand to perform. He performed until the s to spread his non-violent message of working in our conscience to change inegalitarian society. In the s, together with Sylvie Dien, he wrote new lyrics to the French national anthem, "La Marseillaise", to make it a song of peace rather than of war.

In popular culture. Graeme Allwright aka Joue, joue, joue , , Mercury. Recollections, , Mercury. Saturday 21 March Sunday 22 March Monday 23 March Tuesday 24 March Wednesday 25 March Thursday 26 March Friday 27 March Saturday 28 March Monday 30 March Tuesday 31 March Wednesday 1 April Thursday 2 April Friday 3 April Saturday 4 April Sunday 5 April Monday 6 April Tuesday 7 April Wednesday 8 April Thursday 9 April Friday 10 April Saturday 11 April Sunday 12 April Monday 13 April Tuesday 14 April Wednesday 15 April Friday 17 April Saturday 18 April Sunday 19 April Monday 20 April Tuesday 21 April Wednesday 22 April Thursday 23 April Friday 24 April Saturday 25 April Sunday 26 April Monday 27 April Tuesday 28 April Wednesday 29 April Thursday 30 April Friday 1 May Saturday 2 May Sunday 3 May Over the next few years, Allwright developed a tendency to record an album and then leave France for some time to travel in Africa, India, and the Americas, which enhanced his cult status in France.

He became friendly with Cohen, who approved of his adaptations, and in Allwright released the album Graeme Allwright chante Leonard Cohen.

The same year, he released the double live album A l'Olympia. In he released a collection of songs by Georges Brassens. He continued his campaigning activities, protesting against the French government's nuclear testing in the Pacific, and the sinking of the Rainbow Warrior in Allwright later worked on film soundtracks, and recorded an album of songs for children. He released the album Tant de Joies , a collaboration with American jazz trombonist Glenn Ferris , in In , he made a rare return to New Zealand to perform.

The 7 album set arrived shrink-wrapped and in mint condition. The remastering is superb especially the bass resonance on Mr Big from Free Live and Tons of Sobs album sounds fantastic. Many of the covers are fold-out which were not available in New Zealand on original release. All up the box set cost me $ NZ Dollars/5(27).

About : Kigarg

9 thoughts on “Petites Boites (Little Boxes) - Graeme Allwright - Graeme Allwright (Vinyl, LP, Album)”

  1. Nov 07,  · Little Boxes (Petites Boites) Artist Kate & Anna Mcgarrigle; Album If I Had A Song: The Songs Of Pete Seeger, Vol. 2; Petites boites Graeme Allwright - Duration:
  2. Allwright's music "provided anthems for the French left-wing counter-culture." His greatest success came with his third album, Le jour de clarté (), which included adaptations of two songs by Leonard Cohen ("Suzanne" and "The Stranger Song"), two by Tom Paxton, and others by Pete Seeger, Jackson C. Frank, and Roger Miller.
  3. Graeme Allwright is a French singer/songwriter of the late-'60s folk era best known for his French-language adaptations of songs by Leonard Cohen, Bob Dylan, and .
  4. He won a recording contract with Mercury Records, and his second album, also entitled Graeme Allwright, was issued in It featured adaptations of Dylan's "Who Killed Davy Moore?" ("Qui a tué Davy Moore?") and Malvina Reynolds' "Little Boxes" ("Petites boites"), as well as his own song "Il faut que je m'en aille (Les retrouvailles)", and became popular with students during the May 68 protests.
  5. Jan 29,  · Graeme Allwright (born in Wellington, New Zealand on 7 November ; died 16 February ) was a New Zealand-born French singer and songwriter. He became popular in the s and s as a French language interpreter of the songs of American and Canadian songwriters such as Leonard Cohen, Bob Dylan, and Pete Seeger, and remained active into.
  6. Dec 11,  · Graeme Allwright ‎- Graeme Allwright Vinyl | LP Cover () | FLAC + cue | 24bit/96kHz | mb Label: Mercury‎/ | Released: | Genre: Folk I start to review the Graeme Allwright discography. For me has been a pleasant surprise to discover thanks to the generosity of polux, who has sent me the most relevant LPs of his discography.
  7. Retrouvez les paroles de Graeme Allwright - Petites Boites lyrics: Petites boîtes très étroites Petites boîtes faites en ticky-tacky Petites.
  8. View credits, reviews, tracks and shop for the Vinyl release of Graeme Allwright on Discogs. Label: Mercury - • Format: Vinyl LP, Album, Reissue • Country: France • /5(28).
  9. Petites Boites "Little Boxes" Written-By – Graeme Allwright, Malvina Reynolds: C5: L'Étranger "Stranger Song" Written-By – Graeme Allwright, Leonard Cohen: D1: Emmène-Moi "Take Me Home" Written-By – Reynolds*, Graeme Allwright, Clements* D2: Suzanne Written-By – Graeme Allwright, Leonard Cohen: D3: Jusqu'A La.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *