Category: Alternative

2 Oct, 2012

Tenderly - Chet Baker - The Last Great Concert - My Favourite Songs Vol. 1 & 2 (Cassette, Album)

Walter Norris tracks 2, 4—5, 7. Richard Rodgers track 2. Lorenz Hart track 2. Chet Baker tracks 2, 7. Norddeutscher Rundfunk the company — tracks 1—7. Warner Chappell Music Ltd. Williamson Music Company track 2. Live at Fat Tuesday's. Live at the Paris Festival. Disk Union. Live in Paris. Out of Nowhere. In Concert. India Navigation. Studio Trieste. Live in Sweden with Ake Johansson.

At Capolinea. RED Distribution. Live at New Morning. Line for Lyons. Blues for a Reason. Gazell Productions. Soul Note Italy. Hazy Hugs. There'll Never Be Another You.

Live from the Moonlight. Chet's Choice. Chet Baker Plays Vladimir Cosma. Wagram Records. When Sunny Gets Blue. Live at Ronnie Scott's. A Night at the Shalimar. Chet Baker in Tokyo. Four: Live in Tokyo, Vol. Paddle Wheel. WEA Latina. Tuesday 7 April Wednesday 8 April Thursday 9 April Friday 10 April Saturday 11 April Sunday 12 April Monday 13 April Tuesday 14 April Wednesday 15 April Friday 17 April Saturday 18 April Sunday 19 April Monday 20 April Tuesday 21 April Wednesday 22 April Thursday 23 April Friday 24 April Saturday 25 April Sunday 26 April Monday 27 April Tuesday 28 April Wednesday 29 April Thursday 30 April Friday 1 May Saturday 2 May Sunday 3 May Monday 4 May Tuesday 5 May Wednesday 6 May Thursday 7 May Friday 8 May Saturday 9 May Sunday 10 May Monday 11 May Tuesday 12 May Wednesday 13 May Thursday 14 May Friday 15 May Saturday 16 May Sunday 17 May Monday 18 May Tuesday 19 May Baker 's understated, haunting playing of "All Blues" has a special poignancy.

He opens the evening with "My Funny Valentine" backed solely by guitar, with a delayed entrance by pianist Walter Norris with whom he last played three decades earlier and the piece orchestra; his vocals quaver a bit but are quite sincere.

Baker seems energized by the snappy chart of "Well, You Needn't," which features another old friend from his West Coast days, alto saxophonist Herb Geller. Baker basks in the upbeat return visit to "Look for the Silver Lining," which he first recorded during his heyday with Pacific Jazz. Originally issued on two separate discs by Enja in , this reissue combines both volumes in one very affordable set. This concert is definitely one of the best recordings of the last decade of Chet Baker 's career; in any case, it should be considered an essential purchase.

AllMusic relies heavily on JavaScript. Please enable JavaScript in your browser to use the site fully. Blues Classical Country. Chet Baker. My Funny Valentine. Well You Needn't. Thelonious Monk. In Your Own Sweet Way. Dave Brubeck. John Lewis.

Chet Baker plays and sings superbly on seven varied tracks with impressive versions of Miles Davis's 'All Blues' and Thelonious Monk's 'Well You Needn't' plus a moving 'My Funny Valentine'. Anyone who believes the myth that the trumpeter's playing was in decline during his latter years should hear 'My Favourite Songs - The Last Great Concert'/5(19).

About : Kagarisar

9 thoughts on “Tenderly - Chet Baker - The Last Great Concert - My Favourite Songs Vol. 1 & 2 (Cassette, Album)”

  1. "Chet Baker rose to fame at an early age, mostly thanks to his good looks, then succumbed to a heroin addiction, disappeared from the scene almost completely, and finally resurfaced in Europe, where he spent the last decade of his life, recording some of his best .
  2. Oct 26,  · Summertime [live] - Chet Baker Solo. George Gershwim.. CD. My Favourite Songs. Transcribed by Carles Margarit. If you'd like to support me you can do so at t.
  3. Album + Live. Year Title Artist Rating Releases; Chet Baker in New York: Chet Baker: 7: Chet Baker in Milan.
  4. I fall in love too easily I fall in love too fast I fall in love too terribly hard For love to ever last My heart should be well-schooled 'Cause I've been fooled in the past But still I fall in love so easily I fall in love too fast My heart should be well-schooled.
  5. Nov 05,  · Album: Last Great Concert: My Favorite Songs 1 & 2 Label: Enja Release Date June 22, Recording DateApril 28,
  6. View credits, reviews, tracks and shop for the CD release of The Last Great Concert - My Favourite Songs Vol. 1 & 2 on Discogs. Label: Enja Records - JENJ /,Justin Time - JENJ / • Format: 2x, CD Album, Reissue • Country: Canada • Genre: Jazz • 5/5(2).
  7. Find Chet Baker discography, albums and singles on AllMusic. My Favourite Songs, Vols. The Last Great Concert: Enja Goodbye, Chet: Philology In Memory Of: L Quartet Live, Vol. 1: This Time the Dream's on Me: Pacific Jazz / Blue Note
  8. Find album reviews, stream songs, credits and award information for The Last Great Concert: My Favorite Songs, Vol. 1 & 2 - Chet Baker on AllMusic - - This concert turned out to be Chet Baker 9/
  9. Nov 19,  · Album: Last Great Concert: My Favorite Songs 1 & 2 Year: Label: Enja "Chet Baker died two weeks after this Last Great Concert was performed. Sad, really; made even sadder when you listen to.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *