Category: Alternative

2 Oct, 2012

The Nearness Of You - Stéphane Grappelli - The Intimate Grapelli (CD)

Would you also like to submit a review for this item? You already recently rated this item. Your rating has been recorded. Write a review Rate this item: 1 2 3 4 5.

Preview this item Preview this item. Stephane Grappelli. Subjects Jazz. Violin with jazz ensemble. Violin music Jazz More like this Similar Items. Allow this favorite library to be seen by others Keep this favorite library private.

Although confined to a wheelchair, he continued concert touring into the mids. Article Media. Info Print Cite. Submit Feedback. Thank you for your feedback. The Editors of Encyclopaedia Britannica Encyclopaedia Britannica's editors oversee subject areas in which they have extensive knowledge, whether from years of experience gained by working on that content or via study for an advanced degree Thursday 25 June Friday 26 June Saturday 27 June Sunday 28 June Monday 29 June Tuesday 30 June Wednesday 1 July Thursday 2 July Friday 3 July Saturday 4 July Sunday 5 July Monday 6 July Tuesday 7 July Wednesday 8 July Thursday 9 July Friday 10 July Saturday 11 July Sunday 12 July Monday 13 July Tuesday 14 July Wednesday 15 July Thursday 16 July Friday 17 July Saturday 18 July Sunday 19 July Monday 20 July Tuesday 21 July Wednesday 22 July Thursday 23 July Friday 24 July Saturday 25 July Sunday 26 July Monday 27 July Tuesday 28 July Wednesday 29 July Thursday 30 July Friday 31 July Saturday 1 August Sunday 2 August Monday 3 August Tuesday 4 August Birth of the Blues.

Swanee River. Smoke Rings. I Can't Get Started. I'll Remember April. Pennies From Heaven. Take the "a" Train. Don't Get Around Much Anymore.

Day Dream. Cotton Tail. It's Only A Paper Moon. Someone to Watch Over Me. You Took Advantage of Me. Time on My Hands.

Smoke Gets in Your Eyes. Thou Swell. Taking a Chance on Love. If I Had You. I Want to Be Happy. She's Funny That Way. Taking a Chance on Love [Alternate] [ ]. Someone to Watch Over Me [Alternate] [ ]. You've Got a Thing. Love for Sale. My Heart Belongs to Daddy. How High the Moon [Instrumental]. You Better Go Now. Like Someone in Love.

Oh, Lady, Be Good! I'm Confessin'. Chasing Shadows. Louis Blues. Runnin' Wild! How High the Moon? Star Eyes. I Remember April. All God's Children Got Rhythm. It's You or No One. If I Were a Bell. You Are the Sunshine of My Life. Don't Blame Me. Runnin' Wild. It Had to Be You. Jeepers Creepers. Moon Glow. I Never Knew. You're the Cream in My Coffee. When I Look at You.

Three O Clock in the Morning. My Heart Tells Me. Makin' Whoopee. My One and Only Love. Making Whoopee. More Than You Know. The Sheik of Araby. Star Dust. Please Be Kind.

Don't Worry About Me. How About You? This Can't Be Love. The Birth of the Blues. Sweet Lorraine. How High The Moon. Exactly Like You Pour Vous. I'm Confessin. Runnin Wild. I Won't Dance. Autumn Leaves. My Heart Stood Still. I Won't Dance [Instrumental]. Autumn Leaves [Instrumental]. My Heart Stood Still [Instrumental]. If I Had You [Instrumental]. Round About Midnight.

All God's Chillun Got Rhythm. Sunny Skies. The Folks on the Hill. Running Wild. I've Got the World on a String. Someone to Watch over Me. Didn't We. Three Little Words. Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea. Bugle Call Rag.

All of Me. Chattanooga Choo Choo. Careless Love. Farewell Blues. Just You, Just Me. Blue Moon. But Not for Me. Isn't She Lovely. I Get a Kick Out of You. Ain't Misbehavin. I'm in the Mood for Love. Pennies from Heaven. California Here I Come. Danny Boy. Fit as a Fiddle. A Fine Romance. Fine and Dandy. California, Here I Come. Here, There and Everywhere. Laura, song for the film, "Laura". Pick Yourself Up, song from film "Swing Time".

The Nearness of You [Take 7]. Get Happy. Fascinating Rhythm. You Go to My Head. Ma, He's Making Eyes at Me. Pick Yourself Up. We slept on the floor, and often were without food. There were many times when I had to fight for a crust of bread [4]. Grappelli compared his early life to a Dickens novel, [3] and said that he once tried to eat flies to ease his hunger. Grappelli began playing the violin at the age of 12 on a three-quarter-sized violin his father purchased by pawning a suit.

My first lessons were in the streets, watching how other violinists played When I asked how one should play, he exploded in laughter. I left, completely humiliated with my violin under my arm. After a brief period of independent learning, Grappelli was enrolled at the Conservatoire de Paris on December 31, , which his father hoped would give him a chance to learn music theory , ear-training , and solfeggio. In , Grappelli graduated with a second-tier medal. Grappelli remained in Paris because he disliked Fuchs.

At the age of 15, Grappelli began busking full-time to support himself. He played there for six hours daily over a two-year period. Here he was introduced to jazz.

In , Grappelli was a member of the orchestra at the Ambassador Hotel while bandleader Paul Whiteman and jazz violinist Joe Venuti were performing there. Jazz violinists were rare, and though Venuti played mainly commercial jazz themes and seldom improvised, Grappelli was struck by his bowing when he played " Dinah ".

Grappelli lived with Michel Warlop , a classically trained violinist. Warlop admired Grappelli's jazz-inspired playing, while Grappelli envied Warlop's income.

Stéphane Grappelli, French violinist (born Jan. 26, , Paris, France—died Dec. 1, , Paris), was one of the few notable jazz improvisers on violin and one of the first popular European jazz musicians; he played with a lilting swing and quick wit that made him an international favourite for over 60 years. With the great Gypsy guitarist Django Reinhardt, he formed () the first.

About : Dik

8 thoughts on “The Nearness Of You - Stéphane Grappelli - The Intimate Grapelli (CD)”

  1. Stéphane Grappelli. Stéphane Grappelli (French pronunciation: [xirobormamowecetinidemawal.coinfogʁa.pɛ'li] ; 26 January – 1 December ) was a French jazz violinist who founded the Quintette du Hot Club de France with guitarist Django Reinhardt in It was one of the first all-string jazz bands.
  2. Stuttgart, January , , from Stephane Grappelli* - Young Django. Paris, May 27, , from Legrand Grappelli. Barcode and Other Identifiers.
  3. Jun 25,  · Stephane Grappelli - A Life in Jazz, author Paul Balmer. Filmed in and first shown on BBC Scotland’s ‘ExS’, Music and Arts Series. Producer - .
  4. Stéphane Grappelli. Stéphane Grappelli (French pronunciation: [xirobormamowecetinidemawal.coinfogʁa.pɛ'li] ; 26 January – 1 December ) was a French jazz violinist who founded the Quintette du Hot Club de France with guitarist Django Reinhardt in It was one of the first all-string jazz bands.
  5. To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free or outside the United States, call
  6. Written-By – Stephane Grappelli* 7: Hot Lips Written-By – D. Reinhardt* 8: My Heart Stood Still Written-By – Rodgers / Hart* 9: The Nearness Of You Written-By – Carmichael*, Washington* Joy Written-By – I. Isaacs* A Nightingale Sang In Berkeley Square Written-By – Maschwitz*, Sherwin*
  7. Jan 19,  · STÉPHANE GRAPPELLI: «Stardust» - Black Lion, Stardust – take 1 (Carmichael) The Nearness of You – take 7 (Carmichael & Washington) Tournesol – take 6 (Grappelli.
  8. Find album reviews, stream songs, credits and award information for The Intimate Grappelli - Stéphane Grappelli on AllMusic - Find album reviews, stream songs, credits and award information for The Intimate Grappelli - Stéphane Grappelli on AllMusic - AllMusic. New Releases The Nearness of You. Hoagy Carmichael / Ned.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *